My ChoiceHeadmaster Trevor Hall expressed the following compliments and thanks to the Matric Class of 2015 at the Matric Speech Night and Prize-Giving. For an abridged version of his speech, click here. SPEECH 2015 ABRIDGED

Matrics of 2015, I thank you for the value you added to WBHS over your five years here.

The image that you have created for yourselves is a positive one – your teachers confirmed that in our recent survey. Most of them said you were great to teach. That is a compliment of the highest order.

We expect every boy to make consistent contributions both inside and outside the classroom, and you have generally done that in a constructive way. Many of you have displayed a high level of emotional intelligence as well.

The Student Leaders and the LRC have accomplished much this year, as have the boys who served in so many different ways. Many of you have taken a lead, even without a title, and, as the world now expects, you have learnt the art of leading by positive influence rather than through simply commanding others. You have displayed an admirable personal brand and you have consequently helped to make WBHS better and stronger.

Judging from the surveys you did today, I see that some of you regret not taking full advantage of what we offer at WBHS, and some of you feel that you could have made a bigger contribution. But the time has now come for you to go out and make your mark on the world out there in a positive way.

In this Matric group, there have been Energisers – you will probably go on to be leaders of the Multipliers-type. Many of you have reflected an admirable personal brand. You have set a good tone for the School and you have been good role models. Keep it that way, and the world will open its doors of opportunity to you.

I wish you well.

Further congratulations to all the Prize Winners:

Dux of the school – 2015 Samuel De Beer
Proxime Accessit – 2015 Sahil Maharaj
Subject Prizes: Top learner in ……
Accounting Sahil Maharaj
Afrikaans First Additional Language Gert Du Toit
Dramatic Arts Mason Campbell
Business Studies Garryth Jackson
Engineering Graphics and Design Mikaail Haffejee
English Home Language Samuel De Beer
Geography Kamir Arjun
History Joshua Gonggryp
IsiZulu First Additional Language Melusi Mthabela
Life Sciences Sahil Maharaj
Mathematics Brandon Katusic
Maths Literacy Simon van Niekerk
Physical Science Sahil Maharaj
Visual Arts Samuel De Beer
English and Mathematics Award Samuel De Beer
Life Orientation Kamir Arjun
Other Awards:
WBHS Scholarship Award – 2015 Samuel De Beer
Choir Masters Award Hadley Grecia
Walton Scroll for Dramatics Keegan Barnes
Westville Protection Services -1st Aid Award Joshua Jonkman
Old Boys – Service Award Dylan Manggos
Rotary Service to the community award Kamir Arjun
Walton Cup – Service to the School Jordan Lillywhite
Lions – Denis Hamilton Award (Altruistic) Njabulo Ndabezitha
Leadership through Service Caleb Shepard
Governing Body Chairperson’s award Kamir Arjun
Gerald Sweidan Award Shane Ball
Lester-Hall Cup – Good Fellowship Njabulo Ndabezitha
Silver Jubilee – Sportsman of the Year -2015 Devon Muller
Mickey Arthur – Sporting Excellence – 2015 Jason Broomhead
Headmaster’s Award – 2015 Shane Ball
Creative Spirit Award Keegan Barnes



Incepto Ne Desistam Awards:
Category One: Honours award in Sport and achieved at least 70% aggregate (Half Colours) in Academics. Shane Ball
  Damon Lee
  Craig Schlemmer
  Itumeleng Lesuthu


  Nicholas Inman Bamber
Category TWO: Honours or Colours in at least 3 areas of school life, viz: Academics, Culture, Service, Sport
Service Excellence Certificates:
Honours: Joshua Jonkman
Honours: Dylan Manggos
Honours: Caleb Shepard
Cultural Excellence Certificates:
Honours: Jeremy Nelson – Dramatics
Honours: Keegan Barnes – Dramatics
Honours: Tristan Robertson – Dramatics
Honours: Mason Campbell – Dramatics
Sporting Excellence Certificates:
Honours: Itumeleng Lesuthu – Athletics
Honours: Jonathon Henry – Cross Country
Honours: Jason Broomhead – Golf, indoor hockey
Honours: Ryan Bradfield – Hockey, indoor hockey
Honours: Tristan Smith – Hockey, indoor hockey
Honours: Luke Bowman – Hockey, indoor hockey
Honours: Shane Ball – Rugby, athletics
                                       Honours: Jordan Els – Rugby
   Honours: Sibabalo Qoma – Rugby
Honours: Devon Muller – Rugby, basketball
                                      Honours: Damon Lee – Rugby
                                      Honours: Mpilo Shange – Football
                                      Honours: Jeremy Nelson – Squash
Honours: James Brooks – Swimming
Honours: Brandon Levy – Swimming
Honours: Daniel Ronaldson – Swimming
Honours: Peter Wetzlar – Swimming
Honours: Craig Schlemmer – Cricket
Honours: Tyron Koen – Cricket
Honours: Nicholas Inman-Bamber- basketball
Honours: Timothy Lee – Softball
Honours: Jamie Rohrs – Softball
Honours: Dayle Freemantle- Softball


Academic Excellence Certificates:

Honours: Kamir Arjun
Honours: Samuel De Beer
Honours: Joshua Gonggryp
Honours: Luke Lapin
Honours: Sahil Maharaj
Honours: Devashen Mudaliar
Honours: Muhammed Suleman
Honours: Taahir Suleman