2013 Dux, Asil Motala

2013 Dux, Asil Motala

Headmaster's Award went to Zane Weir, 2013 Head of School

Headmaster’s Award went to Zane Weir, 2013 Head of School

Head of School, Zane Weir, rings the Solitaire Bell for the last time.

Head of School, Zane Weir, rings the Solitaire Bell for the last time.

The Silver Jubilee Shield for Sportsman of the Year was awarded to Jason Oakes

The Silver Jubilee Shield for Sportsman of the Year was awarded to Jason Oakes

Governing Body Chairperson's Award went to James Erasmus

Governing Body Chairperson’s Award went to James Erasmus

Westville’s top matriculants were honoured at a moving Speech Night on Thursday 17 October. Professor Michael Ezekowitz, a Westville Old Boy from 1963 who is now a world leader in Cardiovascular Research was the Guest of Honour. It was particularly significant that Professor Ezekowitz was back at Speech Night, 50 years after he had matriculated!

The Dux award went to Asil Motala who also received the subject prizes for Accounting, Afrikaans, Life Sciences, Mathematics, Physical Science and English. Asil is to be congratulated on setting the bar at an extremely high standard. There were seven boys who were recognised for academic merit (Gareth Kieck, Dilan Koovarjee, Bandile Mbele, Asil Motala, Hermann Tapamo, Graham Taschner and Steffen Wies) and a further 26 who received certificates for academic achievement (colours).

The coveted Good Fellowship Award which is based on matric votes, went to Gareth Kieck. Gareth also received the WBHS Trust Scholarship.

The Mickey Arthur Award for Sporting Excellence when to Calvyn Justus in recognition of his incredible swimming achievements including representing the SA Open Swimming team this year and being awarded his South African Open Colours and Springbok blazer.

The Errol Stewart Silver Jubilee Shield for Sportsman of the Year was awarded to Jason Oakes who represented the School with distinction at 1st team level in four sports, namely Cricket, Hockey, Indoor Hockey and Soccer.

In line with the schools mission of all round excellence, the Incepto Nes Desistam Awards are made to pupils who have achieved at least a 75 % aggregate in addition to achieving well in all aspects of school life including sport, culture and service. Ten boys achieved this including Andre de la Rey, Michael Field, Wayde Finch, Nicholas Finn, Kyle Pierpoint, Shivaan Salligram, Zane Weir, Graham Taschner, Steffen Wies and Rudi Wies.
The full list of awards are detailed below:

Service Excellence Certificates
Aneet Daji,Graham Taschner,Rudi Wies,Steffen Wies,Ashley Fraser

Walton Cup– Service To The School Award
Steffen Wies

Old Boys Of 1979-Service To Community
(Sponsored By Westville Rotary Club)
Gareth Kieck

The Lions—Denis Hamilton Service Award
Rudi Wies

Leadership Through Service
(Sponsored By Gareth Morgan)
Aneet Daji

The Gerald Sweidan Award
Andre De La Rey

Governing Body Chairperson’s Award
James Erasmus

The Headmaster’s Award For Head Of School
Zane Weir

Lester-Hall Cup For Good Fellowship
Gareth Kieck

Sports Awards
Sports Excellence Certificates
Neil Boshoff ,Andre De La Rey,Bradley Ellse,Michael Field,Wayde Finch,Nicholas Finn,Lee Geeson,Cameron Gordon,Clayton Jimmie,Calvyn Justus,Mzamo Majola,Clayton Mansfield,Reece Mchardy,Javed Mea,Alan Neat,Jason Oakes,Muhammad Patel,Keagan Paverd,Nicholas Pentz,Kyle Pierpoint,Shivaan Salligram,Luke Schlemmer,Louis Snyman,Paul Van Achterbergh,Andrew Van Rensburg

Mickey Arthur Trophy– Sporting Excellence
Calvyn Justus

Silver Jubilee Shield—Sportsman Of The Year (Sponsored By Errol Stewart)
Jason Oakes

Cultural Awards
Cultural Excellence Certificates
Aury Livingstone,Seth Parkin,Charl Rossouw,Steffen Wies

Durban Men’s Choir Award
Charl Rossouw

Choir Master’s Award
Steffen Wies

Walton Scroll For Dramatics
Steffen Wies

Mclean Scroll For Debating
Rudi Wies And Steffen Wies

Certificates Of Academic Merit In Alphabetical Order
Michael Baxter, Yusuf Bhabha, Nicholas Clarke, Stephen Coombe, Aneet Daji, Andre De La Rey, Dylan D’emmerez De Charmoy, Michael Field, Nicholas Finn, Richard Hill, Ethan Hitchcock, Yusuf Khan, Aury Livingstone, Nikhil Maharaj, Jesse Mills, Yuvaneasvaran Naicker, Nikhil Nundlall, Kyle Pierpoint, Kyle Pillay, Wiehan Prinsloo, Shivaan Salligram, Naeem Shaikh, Zane Stenning, Azhar Valiallah, Rudi Wies.

Certificate Of Academic Excellence
Gareth Kieck, Dilan Koovarjee, Bandile Mbele, Asil Motala, Hermann Tapamo, Graham Taschner, Steffen Wies

Subject Prizes
Muhammad Malek – Business Studies
Aury Livingstone – Dramatic Arts
Yusuf Bhabha – Engineering Graphics And Design
Graham Taschner – English Main Language
Richard Hill – Geography, History
Bandile Mbele – Isizulu 1st Additional Language
Rudi Wies – Life Orientation
Kyle Pierpoint & Graham Taschner – Visual Arts
Asil Motala – Accounting,Afrikaans 1st Additional Language, Life Sciences, Mathematics, Physical Science, English And Mathematics

Creative Spirit Award
Aury Livingstone

Incepto Ne Desistam Awards
Andre De La Rey – Honours Rugby, Full Colours Academics
Michael Field – Honours Badminton, Full Colours Academics
Wayde Finch – Honours Badminton, Full Colours Academics
Nicholas Finn – Honours Hockey, Full Colours Academics
Kyle Pierpoint – Honours Badminton, Full Colours Academics
Shivaan Salligram – Honours Squash, Full Colours Academics
Zane Weir – Honours Athletics, Full Colours Academics
Graham Taschner – Honours Academic, Honours Service, Full Colours Dramatics
Steffen Wies – Honours Academics, Honours Service, Honours Dramatics
Rudi Wies – Full Colours Academics, Honours Service, Full Colours Debating

The Westville Boys’ High School Trust Scholarship
Gareth Kieck

Graham Taschner Proxime Accessit
Asil Motala Dux

The evening was concluded with the final ringing of the Solitaire Bell.