Swimming Captain Clayton Jimmie received the Trophy for Sports Code of the Year from Guest of Honour, Mohammed Mea.

Swimming Captain Clayton Jimmie received the Trophy for Sports Code of the Year from Guest of Honour, Mohammed Mea.

WBHS held its Matric Sports Prize Giving last week, honouring Grade 12 pupils in all its 20 official sports. SA Men’s Hockey player, Mohammed Mea, was the Guest of Honour.

Swimming once again took top honours with Sports Code of the Year, while 1st Team Cricket was named team of the year.

Other Prize Winners included:


Kyle Simmonds – SA U18 Colts Cricket (2012)

Javed Mea – SA U18B Schools Hockey

Jacques Bleeker – SA U18B Schools Hockey

Yaseen Ibrahim – SA U17 Tennis

Clayton Jimmie – SA Youth Swiming Team

Calvyn Justus – SA Swimming Team

Paul Van Achterbergh – SA Lifesaving Team


Athletics:   Senior Athlete of the year – Zane Weir

Badminton:  Senior Singles Champion – Wayde Finch

Basketball:  Player of the year – Philip Price and George Ogolla

Most improved player – Andrew Van Rensburg

Canoeing:  Clelland/Christy Trophy for the top placed finisher in the Annual Dusi Canoe Marathon – Jason Ward

Cricket:  Most improved player – Cameron Gordon

Sportsman of the year – Luke Schlemmer

Player of the year – Nicholas Pentz

Cross Country:  Senior Cross Country Champion – Aiden Billington

Golf:  Most Improved Golfer – Gareth Simmonds & Matthew Hayward

Stroke Play Champion – Clayton Mansfield

Match Play Champion – Clayton Mansfield

Hockey: Most improved player – Louis Saunders and Alex Whitelaw

Sportsman of the year – Nicolas Finn

Player of the year – Javed Mea

Indoor Hockey: Player of the year – Nick Finn and Javed Mea

Most improved player – Brandon Watkins

Rugby:  Most Improved – Jonty Osborn

SOB Guts award – Andre De la Rey

Best Forward – Mzamo Majola

Best Back – Reece McHardy

Most Valuable Player – Bradley Ellse

Top Point Scorer –   Louis Snyman

Rugby 7’s:  Player of the year – Bradley Ellse

Soccer:  Most improved player – Ndumiso Mbambo

Sportsman of the year – Bradley Smith

Player of the year – Neil Boschoff

Softball: Most improved player – Chad Van Rensburg

Player of the year – Matthew Larkins

Squash:  U/19 Champion – Shivaan Salligram

Surfing:  Surfer of the year – Luke McKenzie

Swimming: Most improved swimmer – Lee Geeson

Swimmer of the year – Clayton Jimmie & Calvyn Justus

Tennis:  Senior Singles – Yaseen Ibrahim

Doubles Champions – Jadon Rosser and Paseka Motsama

Touch Rugby: Player of the year – Donovan Pieters

Volleyball:  Most Improved Player – Ndumiso Dlamini

Most valuable player – Andrew Van Rensburg

Water Polo: Senior Water Polo player of the year – Ryan Clark

Sportsman of the year – Jordan Shapiro

1st Team Coach of the Year: Fabian Lazarus and Thoks Zulu


Sports Awards given at Speech Night and Prize Giving:


SILVER JUBILEE SHIELD—Sportsman of the year Jason Oakes